Hercules information

Serving Europe from the home of the European Union

Moderator: MMattyK

Post Reply
User avatar
MMattyK
Captain
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:05 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Hercules information

Post by MMattyK » Mon Mar 12, 2012 9:43 am

Hiya guys :)

For those who are interested in flying the C130's in our fleet, 300kts TAS Which is around 0.5M equates as follows:

FL200 = 222 KIAS
FL210 = 219 KIAS
FL220 = 215 KIAS
FL230 = 212 KIAS
FL240 = 208 KIAS At this alt, fuel flow to maintain 208 KIAS is about 900 lbs/hr per engine at around 8000 pounds torque. (see below for corrected cruise)
FL250 = 204 KIAS
FL260 = 201 KIAS
FL270 = 198 KIAS
FL280 = 194 KIAS

Max engine conditions are either 19600 pounds torque OR 1080C PTIT which should not be exceeded.

Climp power is 1010 PTIT

** Cruise update **

Cruise altitude of FL240-FL280 and Engines set by PTIT value... max cruise PTIT of 985 C, though long range cruise could be back at around 890 C. Unsure of fuel flows but will get back to edit info when discovered.
Image

User avatar
MMattyK
Captain
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:05 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Hercules information

Post by MMattyK » Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:43 pm

Okies truckers :D

Captain Sim Hercules engine istruments for PTIT against Tq really unrealistic, so suggest the following:
T/O at max power and climb at 1300 fpm until gear/flaps up and achieve around 200-210 KIAS.
Climb at 12000 Tq and 1300 fpm to FL240-FL280 (max as prop efficience falls away above FL280) Fuel Flow around 5600 lbs/hr (total)
Cruise at about 7500 Tq to maintain 205-210 KIAS at FL240. Fuel Flow < 3600 lbs/hr total

I have suggested this as certianly for the RAF C130 C Mk1, the PTIT values for normal ops cannot be achieved. I have sent some feedback to the manufacturer, and hopefully will get updated information as a download in the future.
Image

Tripeiro
Ticket Agent
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:09 pm
Location: Brussels

Re: Hercules information

Post by Tripeiro » Mon Mar 26, 2012 10:32 am

Thank you Mat,

Will try to apply as soon as possible.
]Image ImageImage

User avatar
MMattyK
Captain
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:05 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Hercules information

Post by MMattyK » Mon Mar 26, 2012 12:37 pm

Unfortunately, Captain SIM support seems to be unavailable for the Hercules product, either through themselves or Just Flight, who supplied the boxed set, as their parrtnership has apparently expired. I have purchased a book that details evey model's perfornace and lift capabillity and adjusted the FSAirlines aircraft database to reflect the figures.
I dont know enough about adusting panels/gauges, so will not be able to 'play' with them in an attempt to correct them, but I will have a look at the config file regarding engine performance to ensure that the -20 and -30 have the correct ESHP values set, but again and not sure if the jet thrust from the engine (I seem to remember that about 3% or is it 7% total thrust comes from the jet efflux).
Image

Tripeiro
Ticket Agent
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:09 pm
Location: Brussels

Re: Hercules information

Post by Tripeiro » Mon Mar 26, 2012 2:28 pm

Unfortunately the Captaim sim products are almost eye-candy than simulator things, and after another try m'y C130 just freeze the all computer minutes after take off.

So i think it will join the B707 from the same product to the back up hard drive and "cry" the price i have pay for it......
]Image ImageImage

User avatar
MMattyK
Captain
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:05 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Hercules information

Post by MMattyK » Tue Mar 27, 2012 4:43 am

Okies,
Having had a brief look at the aircraft config file for captain sim legendary C130, found that the propeller diameter is not quite right. The propeller diameter should be 13.5 feet and not 13 feet.
I've made this modification to and it seems to increase the engine torque available slightly.
I'll continue working on this part of the simulation. Incidentally, it uses the same config file for all models C130E and C130K (C130H) in the package.

There's lots of useful information available at the following website:

http://www.baseops.net/c130pilotgouge.html
Image

User avatar
MMattyK
Captain
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:05 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Hercules information

Post by MMattyK » Mon Apr 02, 2012 3:28 pm

Various sources have confirmed that it is not possible to amend the aircraft.cfg file (by itself) in the engine/prop portion with real data as doing so totally destroys the model performance. It seems that the model uses other 'magic' in the modelling somewhere to generate the required engine performance. From my perspective, there is nothing further I can achieve by manipulating the config file as I simply don't know enough.
Image

Post Reply