Tecnical stop over (idea

You are missing something, or have a cool idea for us ? Tell us here !

Moderator: FSAirlines Staff

Post Reply
UAE001
Ticket Agent
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:48 am
Location: South Africa

Tecnical stop over (idea

Post by UAE001 » Mon Jul 31, 2017 6:47 am

Hi all

I have been thinking if it isn't possible to make it so you can do a tecnical stop over with out actually having to reload a new flight plan in everytime, in the menu it says:

FLIGHT NUMBER: BLA BLA
DEP AIRPORT: LIRF
ARR AIRPORT: NZAA
VIA AIRPORT: VTBS (Leave empty if not doing a connecting flight, but will force you to say spend etc. 10 min on the ground before you can proceed), or make a little TICK that will indicate you wish to do more than one leg in this flight, in that way you earn more as the flight will not stop as a final arrival, hope you understand my idea..

Best regards

Nico
Best regards

ORC001

Matthew
Captain
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:49 pm

Re: Tecnical stop over (idea

Post by Matthew » Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:37 pm

This would also be a good idea for the ultra long haul flights that require fuel stops. I.e London to Sydney

Buschpilot
Ticket Agent
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 5:33 pm

Re: Tecnical stop over (idea

Post by Buschpilot » Mon Jul 31, 2017 5:20 pm

Hello Nico...
It is not necessarily the same,
but you can stop by using the DIVERT-BUTTON.

Then you can refill fuel and repair the aircraft, even continue the flight at a later time (bad weather)
and... without giving up the flight schedule again.
Best regards
Mike

AdySmith
Ticket Agent
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 8:55 am

Re: Tecnical stop over (idea

Post by AdySmith » Mon Jul 31, 2017 5:54 pm

But it would be nice to be able to PLAN the tech stop, not do it as a diversion :)

User avatar
joefremont
FSAirlines Developer
Posts: 2083
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 5:46 am
Location: KSFO

Re: Tecnical stop over (idea

Post by joefremont » Mon Jul 31, 2017 11:58 pm

The topic has come up more than once, set a 'diversion' airport or airports on the flight and if you land at one of them it would automatically be considered a 'divert' without having to press the button. Is that what you're asking for or would you want to refuel and takeoff without restarting the flight in the client?

If the flight would automatically end then my biggest concern is how to make the data entry without making the website interface too complicated.

To be honest when I have done those kinds of flights I just broke the route into two different flights (London -> Gandor, Gandor -> New York), cause with the divert its already going to be recorded as two different flights.
Image

UAE001
Ticket Agent
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:48 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Tecnical stop over (idea

Post by UAE001 » Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:23 am

My problem with the divertion button is that it's considered as an emergency landing, i agree with AdySmith that being able to put in a Planned Techinal stop with refueling is all that's needed to be able to make those ultra long hauls as you say from LHR to SYD via Dubai or some where else, this is really a feature that no other cumunity has, and would be awesome :)...
Best regards

ORC001

Matthew
Captain
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:49 pm

Re: Tecnical stop over (idea

Post by Matthew » Mon Aug 07, 2017 10:12 pm

I think, what would work! If when you add a route you have the DEP: airport ARR: airport

just an extra in the middle VIA:

So normal routes would be for eg.

DEP: EGGK
VIA:
ARR:LEAL

whereas the long haul would be

DEP: EGKK
VIA: OMDB
ARR:YSSY



But allowed to add more fuel on the via. (what might also work is a time limit your allowed at the VIA airport before getting a fine for not continuing the flight) Ideas

Does this make sense?

User avatar
joefremont
FSAirlines Developer
Posts: 2083
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 5:46 am
Location: KSFO

Re: Tecnical stop over (idea

Post by joefremont » Mon Aug 07, 2017 11:32 pm

Yes, I can see that. We could even allow multiple space separated names (maybe 3 max) in the 'Via' entry.

Now just to be clear, if we were to do this, functionally they would be the same as the current 'divert', flight report for the first leg would say 'Technical Stopover' instead of 'Diverted Flight' but everything else would be the same.
Image

Matthew
Captain
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:49 pm

Re: Tecnical stop over (idea

Post by Matthew » Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:08 am

yes it would be divert in a way. but not a divert. I mean look at emirates they do this as normal. or qantas. EGLL - OMDB YSSY. But rather than it being a divert it would be planned. I myself do enjoy long flights. But i normally add two sectors. But to have it as one would be awesome

UAE001
Ticket Agent
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:48 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Tecnical stop over (idea

Post by UAE001 » Mon Aug 14, 2017 5:27 pm

I like this, it's good to be able to do it that way, as im one for the ultra long hauls of up to 20 hours flight nonstop, but sometimes you just like to have that tec stop like the real airlines does with out having to clock up new flightplans for every flight, i will say 1 hour on ground and then as an idea you could lose 1% of the total income of the flight, i mean it usually does not take more than 1 h to max 1h25 minutes then they usually leave again on most flights, i know not all of them and im not sure how long let's say the QF from London or sydney stay in dubai before leaving, but 1h25 min on ground in sim sould be more than enough for doing what you need to do ? just a suggestion
Best regards

ORC001

Matthew
Captain
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:49 pm

Re: Tecnical stop over (idea

Post by Matthew » Mon Sep 04, 2017 11:24 pm

Wondering if this idea has any consideration, I just did (enthusiastically) a flight from Vienna to Buenos Aires on the A330.
I did make it, but i saved fuel by decending early at a low rate to cut engine power to eventually shutting the no1 engine off completly. I got a complete fuel loss about 4nm from touch down so was able to land.

But hence to say, even that flight needed a fuel stop

Post Reply