Airport Codes

You are missing something, or have a cool idea for us ? Tell us here !

Moderator: FSAirlines Staff

Cat
Flight Attendant
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 5:56 am

Re: Airport Codes

Post by Cat » Tue Apr 04, 2017 5:32 pm

Heck yeah, I'll help!
Here are airports we have created from scratch because they are not in FSX:

AIRPORTS NOT IN FSX BUT IN FSA - Code listed is current code in FSA

COUNTRY - CODE - NAME
CANADA - - CAB4 -- Tofino Water Aerodrome
CANADA -- CAE3 -- Campbell River Seaplane Base
CANADA -- CAW5 -- Port Hardy Seaplane Base
CANADA -- CYHC -- Vancouver Harbor Water Aerodrome
CANADA -- CYWH -- Victoria Harbor Seaplane Base (also known in real world as Victoria Inner Harbor)
CANADA -- CAR9 -- Bella Bella/Waglisla
COST RICA -- MRTM -- Tamarindo
USA -- PAAP -- Port Alexander Seaplane Base

This does not include airports that moved and use same code like KSGU (which is the only one I know of we fly into)
Last edited by Cat on Tue Apr 04, 2017 6:04 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Image

User avatar
Nutlang
Ticket Agent
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 6:22 am

Re: Airport Codes

Post by Nutlang » Tue Apr 04, 2017 5:36 pm

Joe, I could assist with FS9 airports..
Image

VegasTim
Flight Attendant
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:29 pm
Location: KLAS

Re: Airport Codes

Post by VegasTim » Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:00 pm

Our VA website is built around Google sites and docs so I am familiar with google sheets and will gladly assist as needed.
Image

User avatar
joefremont
FSAirlines Developer
Posts: 2008
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 5:46 am
Location: KSFO

Re: Airport Codes

Post by joefremont » Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:13 pm

Since we had to restore the database we lost the link to the page on the beta site where you can mark the moved airports as the same or different. Here is the link again.

https://beta.fsairlines.net/crewcenter/ ... =port_diff
Image

Cat
Flight Attendant
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 5:56 am

Re: Airport Codes

Post by Cat » Thu Apr 20, 2017 12:44 am

I'll get back on it tomorrow, took a couple of days off to make sure things all settled back down. Only a "mere" 375 to go LOL
Image

User avatar
joefremont
FSAirlines Developer
Posts: 2008
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 5:46 am
Location: KSFO

Re: Airport Codes

Post by joefremont » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:32 am

Cat wrote:I'll get back on it tomorrow, took a couple of days off to make sure things all settled back down. Only a "mere" 375 to go LOL
Thanks Cat, don't feel like you have to do all of them. Hopefully the other volunteers will soon be here to help.
Image

Cat
Flight Attendant
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 5:56 am

Re: Airport Codes

Post by Cat » Mon Apr 24, 2017 5:41 pm

Went to log in to codes page today to get some more work done and I get ERROR 404 requested page doesn't exist
Image

User avatar
joefremont
FSAirlines Developer
Posts: 2008
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 5:46 am
Location: KSFO

Re: Airport Codes

Post by joefremont » Tue Apr 25, 2017 8:01 pm

Sorry about that, was doing some other updates and somehow the temporary page became, even more temporary.

Restored it.
Image

Cat
Flight Attendant
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 5:56 am

Re: Airport Codes

Post by Cat » Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:15 pm

Ha ha all good again I'll see about working on getting through some more. Most of the "different" are heliports/pads in FSA and grass runways in FSX, but we'll go through them all to make sure no more St. George Utah's or Austin Executive's out there. :)
Image

Cat
Flight Attendant
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 5:56 am

Re: Airport Codes

Post by Cat » Wed Apr 26, 2017 5:22 pm

Hi again Joe,

Finding a lot of these airports outside USA, the google mark in FSA is wrong by about the same distance the discrepancy is..... seems every one with same code is coming out as 'same' just with lat/long off by a tick.

Example: ESMS "distance 1.06"
Image

I'm still comparing FSX airport layout/description to FSA using Airport Design Editor, it is the fastest way to audit.

In USA a lot of "helipads/heliports" in FSA are grass runways in FSX but they are only 1000 feet long, which makes them unsuitable for anything but helicopters and ultra lights.

One of them, "Van Nuys RC Airport" is not an airport for full size planes, it is a place where people fly model airplanes. LOL
43L/U003 you can delete. Not in FSX. The U003 code is for P3D so maybe those guys can offer input. ;)
Image

Cat
Flight Attendant
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 5:56 am

Re: Airport Codes

Post by Cat » Wed Apr 26, 2017 5:51 pm

FAMK in FSX is NOT the same as FAMK in FSA

FAMM in FSX is listed as FAMK in FSA - FAMK in FSX is listed as ZA-0085 in FSA.

This conflict would be resolved when referring codes back to FSX as base database .....

Image
Image

User avatar
joefremont
FSAirlines Developer
Posts: 2008
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 5:46 am
Location: KSFO

Re: Airport Codes

Post by joefremont » Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:36 pm

Cat wrote:Hi again Joe,

Finding a lot of these airports outside USA, the google mark in FSA is wrong by about the same distance the discrepancy is..... seems every one with same code is coming out as 'same' just with lat/long off by a tick.

Example: ESMS "distance 1.06"
Image

I'm still comparing FSX airport layout/description to FSA using Airport Design Editor, it is the fastest way to audit.

In USA a lot of "helipads/heliports" in FSA are grass runways in FSX but they are only 1000 feet long, which makes them unsuitable for anything but helicopters and ultra lights.

One of them, "Van Nuys RC Airport" is not an airport for full size planes, it is a place where people fly model airplanes. LOL
43L/U003 you can delete. Not in FSX. The U003 code is for P3D so maybe those guys can offer input. ;)
The beta.fsairlines.net site has the corrected lat lon coordinates, while www.fsairlines.net has the unmodified coordinates, you may want to compare the two if you have any questions.
Image

User avatar
joefremont
FSAirlines Developer
Posts: 2008
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 5:46 am
Location: KSFO

Re: Airport Codes

Post by joefremont » Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:37 pm

Cat wrote:FAMK in FSX is NOT the same as FAMK in FSA

FAMM in FSX is listed as FAMK in FSA - FAMK in FSX is listed as ZA-0085 in FSA.

This conflict would be resolved when referring codes back to FSX as base database .....
Good to know, I will definitely fix that when we do the final update.
Image

Cat
Flight Attendant
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 5:56 am

Re: Airport Codes

Post by Cat » Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:39 am

oh snip from above .... the google marker off the airport is from the beta page..... but I think FSX has some ummm "creative license" taken in where they put airports (lat/long).... so ballpark maybe about the best we can ever hope for when comparing to current "real world location".

290 to go makin progress :)
Image

Cat
Flight Attendant
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 5:56 am

Re: Airport Codes

Post by Cat » Mon May 01, 2017 6:32 pm

196 to go should have all major issues identified by end of this week 8)
Image

Post Reply