restrictions related to altitude, or QNH, QNE

Please report Bugs and Problems here

Moderator: FSAirlines Staff

Kimis

restrictions related to altitude, or QNH, QNE

Post by Kimis » Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:57 am

Hi to all,

Haven't found such discussion here, and hope it could be actual not only for me.

Few times I’ve got penalties for overspeeding bellow FL100 (10000ft) and landing lights on above FL100 (10000ft) then I was 100% sure, that my speed was lower and lights was off at right altitude.

I’ve noticed, that client reading altitude not from plane’s altimeter and not consider to pressure settings on it.

I’m a real pilot and try to fly at FS as real as it gets. I’m switching between QNH and QNE according to charts, and at most countries transition level/altitude is near FL65/5000ft (I’m sure you know terms). FS, unfortunately, has it at FL180 and there is no chance to change it.

So, what does that mean. Lets say I’m departing at airport in center of depression (cyclone) where QNH is 960hPa. After reaching transision level I’m seting altimeter pressure to ISA (1013,25hPa) and climbing to FL100. Here I’m switching landing lights (company policy). Plane’s altimeter here show 10000ft, but FS will show, and client will read 11431ft !!! and of course I’ll get landing ligts above 10000ft penalty.

After flight I’m approaching destination, where QNH is 1030hPa. Near FL100 plane’s altimeter is still at QNE pressure (1013,25hPa). I’m reducing speed below 250kt, switching landing lights on, and continue descent. But, at such pressure FS will give and client will read 9541 ft altitude, 460 ft below speed limitation !!! And again I’ll get penalty !

I appreciate flynet authors for their job and really understand how difficult is to program client to control everything and to take such things into consideration. But if we could expect such changes in some future version, lets say 10.6.3b, it would be great ! :)

Konny
FSAirlines Developer