Beta Testing: Restore Flight

READ THIS FORUM FIRST! Here are the rules and important information for you.

Moderator: FSAirlines Staff

flugkapitan
Flight Attendant
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 7:24 am

Re: Beta Testing: Restore Flight

Post by flugkapitan » Mon Sep 23, 2019 12:23 am

I have the new Client installed and am getting those pauses as well.

P3Dv4.5

Regards,
Scott
Image

"...now let's get this thing on the hump - we've got some flyin' to do!" ~ Major Kong

User avatar
joefremont
FSAirlines Developer
Posts: 2387
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 5:46 am
Location: KSFO

Re: Beta Testing: Restore Flight

Post by joefremont » Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:04 am

flugkapitan wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 12:23 am
I have the new Client installed and am getting those pauses as well.

P3Dv4.5

Regards,
Scott
If select the option 'disable autosave' does it go away? I think I may have to see if I can detect when the autosave takes to long and turn that feature off by default.
Image

flugkapitan
Flight Attendant
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 7:24 am

Re: Beta Testing: Restore Flight

Post by flugkapitan » Mon Sep 23, 2019 3:34 pm

Hi Joe,

I unselected that option after my flight last night. Will try another flight tonight to see if that eliminates the pausing.

The pauses in my case were of about 5 seconds duration, which can be a serious problem during takeoff and especially landing (which indeed it was at KDEN).

Cheers,
Scott
Image

"...now let's get this thing on the hump - we've got some flyin' to do!" ~ Major Kong

User avatar
joefremont
FSAirlines Developer
Posts: 2387
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 5:46 am
Location: KSFO

Re: Beta Testing: Restore Flight

Post by joefremont » Mon Sep 23, 2019 5:26 pm

flugkapitan wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 3:34 pm
Hi Joe,

I unselected that option after my flight last night. Will try another flight tonight to see if that eliminates the pausing.

The pauses in my case were of about 5 seconds duration, which can be a serious problem during takeoff and especially landing (which indeed it was at KDEN).

Cheers,
Scott
What sim are you using? I wonder if disabling the autosave when under a certain altitude (say 1000ft) would make it more tolerable.
Image

flugkapitan
Flight Attendant
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 7:24 am

Re: Beta Testing: Restore Flight

Post by flugkapitan » Tue Sep 24, 2019 2:14 am

Hi Joe,

I'm using P3Dv4.5

After I loaded the Client I went into "options" to make certain the auto save option was checked = disabled.

I flew KDEN (Flightbeam airport scenery) to KLAX (default) in the PMDG B77W, the same aircraft I flew last night. Also using Orbx World and North America LC, along with Rex 4 Textures Direct/Rex Sky Force 3D/ActiveSky for P3Dv4.

Flight trackers in addition to FSA: Navigraph/projectFLY/Simbuddy. The flight trackers were running on 1 networked PC & 2 Laptops.

Computer specs:

Corsair Hydro Series Liquid CPU Cooler H60
Intel 7th Gen Intel Core Desktop Processor i7-7700K 4.2 GHz
LGA1151 DDR4 DP HDMI M.2 USB 3.1 ATX Motherboard
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz
Asus 24x DVD-RW Serial-ATA Internal OEM Optical Drive DRW-24B1ST
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Internal SSD (2)
Toshiba 3TB Desktop 7200RPM Internal HD
Corsair Power Supply RMX 850W
Corsair Obsidian Series 750D Performance Full Tower Case
MSI Gaming GeForce GTX 1070 8GB GDDR5 SLI DirectX 12 VR Ready Graphics Card
Windows 10 Home
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy FX PCIe 5.1 Sound Card with High Performance Headphone Amp

No issues whatsoever during this flight.

Hope some of this info is useful!

Regards,
Scott
Image

"...now let's get this thing on the hump - we've got some flyin' to do!" ~ Major Kong

fackprod
Ticket Agent
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 4:40 am

Re: Beta Testing: Restore Flight

Post by fackprod » Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:10 pm

Everyone else has probably sussed this out by now and I may be dragging my heels, but.....

FSX-SE KJFK-EGLL B748 and 170 nm from landing, decending from FL350 - 270 and WIN10 starts blue revolving circle pausing sim. Windows does not come out of this and FSX now - not responding. Great I think, we have a Continue Flight option. Wrong! Despite following instructions 'loaded file does not match backup data (6)' Continue not allowed.

FSX resumed flight was perfect right down to NMs from Heathrow and altitude at just above target. Spent sone time searching for other FSAAutosave options but could only find file as selected. End result. Landed in London but Client does not recognise.

Someone care to suggest where I went wrong? FSX/File/Load/FSAAutosave
Thanks
fackprod

User avatar
joefremont
FSAirlines Developer
Posts: 2387
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 5:46 am
Location: KSFO

Re: Beta Testing: Restore Flight

Post by joefremont » Fri Jan 03, 2020 6:19 pm

The number in the 'loaded file does not match backup data (6)'" message is a clue as to why the client did not accept it. in this case 6 means the speed and the location between the saved flight and the current flight were too different for it to accept it as a continuation of the same flight. Maybe you waited to long between loading the flight and pushing the 'continue' button?

Its also possible that the freeze in your flight simulator happened while the data was being saved and the client saved its data the simulator did not save its? (or maybe the other way around).
Image

fackprod
Ticket Agent
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 4:40 am

Re: Beta Testing: Restore Flight

Post by fackprod » Sat Jan 04, 2020 6:53 am

Thanks. Out of curiosity, what does code (E) indicate. I tried to Continue again earlier today and got the same dosent match msge but eith E in brackets thus time. As I said, just curious.
Txs

User avatar
joefremont
FSAirlines Developer
Posts: 2387
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 5:46 am
Location: KSFO

Re: Beta Testing: Restore Flight

Post by joefremont » Sat Jan 04, 2020 4:50 pm

The value in the parentheses is actually a combination of codes added to together as a hexadecimal number, the components of that are:

1 - Wrong Aircraft Type
2 - Distance different
4 - Altitude different
8 - Fuel levels different
10 - Empty weight different
20 - Max weight different
40 - Arrival airport different

So in this case E = 2 + 4 + 8, so distance, altitude and fuel were all different.
Image

gcl
Ticket Agent
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 4:58 pm

Re: Beta Testing: Restore Flight

Post by gcl » Mon Jan 27, 2020 1:15 am

Sim crashed after more than 6 flight hours. Had some trouble to restore the flight, because the crash destroyed the fsa_autosave, so I had to go back for 40 minutes. But, anyway, the restore worked fine! Thank you so much!!! I got a fuel penalty, but thats ok.

FSX with latest stable client used.
Image

Post Reply