Flight controls

General AVIATION RELATED chatter

Moderator: FSAirlines Staff

Post Reply
Bigdog2995
Ticket Agent
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:17 am
Location: Australia

Flight controls

Post by Bigdog2995 » Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:25 am

Just want to touch base to see what flight controls people use in 2017.
I'm using my second "Logitech Extreme 3D pro" since 2006.
I have had 2 Saitek Cyborg Fly 5 that lasted 3 months in total.
Would be interested to see what the community is using these days.
Hope to see some great flight cockpits going.
And how to get the most out of flight simulators.
Image

User avatar
Nutlang
Ticket Agent
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 6:22 am

Re: Flight controls

Post by Nutlang » Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:47 pm

Cyborg V1 for me

Best I had in a while.. :)
Image

User avatar
joefremont
FSAirlines Developer
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 5:46 am
Location: KSFO

Re: Flight controls

Post by joefremont » Tue Mar 21, 2017 2:26 am

I use the same Logitech also, usually with a saitek throttle quadrant, I got a saitek x56 recently but did not like it as it had too many controls I could not use.
Image

Bigdog2995
Ticket Agent
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:17 am
Location: Australia

Re: Flight controls

Post by Bigdog2995 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:21 am

I'm interested in the X56, or even the X55 but for the $$ spent it would have to feel great.
I'll be looking into doing a DIY project for a kind of push button macro board for flight sim in the near future.
I have made a make shift head tracker with IR lights and a modded web cam, so I'll probly pick up a track ir soon too .
Image

VegasTim
Flight Attendant
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:29 pm
Location: KLAS

Re: Flight controls

Post by VegasTim » Wed Apr 05, 2017 4:21 am

I made my own panels using nifty little circuit boards from desktop aviator

www.desktopaviator.com
Image

User avatar
joefremont
FSAirlines Developer
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 5:46 am
Location: KSFO

Re: Flight controls

Post by joefremont » Wed Apr 05, 2017 5:31 pm

VegasTim wrote:I made my own panels using nifty little circuit boards from desktop aviator

http://www.desktopaviator.com
Interesting, please tell more!
Image

VegasTim
Flight Attendant
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:29 pm
Location: KLAS

Re: Flight controls

Post by VegasTim » Wed Apr 05, 2017 8:38 pm

The little circuit boards are seen by the computer and FSX/FSUIPC as joystick buttons. You can get circuit boards that work with momentary switches/push buttons or others that send a "pulse" signal and allows you to use toggle switches. They even have one that does half and half.

My first 737 "hybrid" sim/overhead panel I gave to a friend who flies in our virtual airline.
Image

This panel has 4 little circuit boards controlling switch functions. The panel face is just a vinyl overlay printed at a local sign shop from an image I gave them.

I bought an expensive commercial 737 overhead panel and then didn't like it because it was very difficult to program with anything but the 737 (ifly737NG or PMDG 737NG). I sold it on eBay and now I'm about 2/3 finished on a new full size overhead panel in my latest sim build.

Using FSUIPC you can program any switch for any aircraft, there are no drivers or software to install. You can also program a generic set so for example all my single engine prop planes use the generic set and I don't need to program switches for each plane specifically.

So it all comes down to how much time and imagination you have. I emulate many multi position switches with double throw momentary toggle switches then just program them for direction of throw. If the setting you want is "two clicks right", then you just click the toggle two clicks.

Desktop Aviator also has pre made panels and circuit boards for rotary switches but I found my momentary switch functions work good enough for me.

FYI - to return to topic at hand, I use Saitek yoke (got one of the good ones in 2009 - still works well after I taped up the flicker clock), Saitek Pro Flight rudder pedals and a GoFlight throttle and MCP.
Image

User avatar
joefremont
FSAirlines Developer
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 5:46 am
Location: KSFO

Re: Flight controls

Post by joefremont » Wed Apr 05, 2017 8:55 pm

Very impressive, I have some of the saitek gauges/modules but ended up not using them much. The multi panel and switch panel are pretty useful, the rest I can live without. With them you do have to be careful you don't plug too many into your USB hub because of the power the draw.
Image

VegasTim
Flight Attendant
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:29 pm
Location: KLAS

Re: Flight controls

Post by VegasTim » Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:13 pm

Yes I am finding things out with experience too, what needs to be handy and what can be done on the screen once per flight with the mouse.

I found it is much easier to have an "over under" monitor set up and just plug in the aircraft 2D panel to the lower monitor than trying to use external hardware modules for instruments. Then my big monitor up top handles the views and my instrument panel under it never moves.
Image

Bigdog2995
Ticket Agent
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:17 am
Location: Australia

Re: Flight controls

Post by Bigdog2995 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 11:04 am

I love these types of projects, would like to see more on how you built it :)
That vinyl overlay looks awesome! I bet the sign store don't have these requests come in too often ;)
Image

VegasTim
Flight Attendant
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:29 pm
Location: KLAS

Re: Flight controls

Post by VegasTim » Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:14 pm

I had a blog awhile back on total concept through construction but search as I may I think my saved copy was on my crashed hard drive. :(
Image

Bigdog2995
Ticket Agent
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:17 am
Location: Australia

Re: Flight controls

Post by Bigdog2995 » Sun Apr 23, 2017 4:31 am

I could not imagine building something like this.. but would love it!!!
Image
found on a google search
Image

User avatar
joefremont
FSAirlines Developer
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 5:46 am
Location: KSFO

Re: Flight controls

Post by joefremont » Sun Apr 23, 2017 5:00 pm

That would be awesome but would never have the space for it!

Plus, you build something like that its for a single aircraft type, I would get bored only flying one AC.
Image

wings138
Flight Attendant
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 6:57 am

Re: Flight controls

Post by wings138 » Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:24 pm

joefremont wrote:That would be awesome but would never have the space for it!

Plus, you build something like that its for a single aircraft type, I would get bored only flying one AC.
I built one from plans I got from simsamurai.com and use it for jets, (B737s, A380, and others).

I'm planning to build a smaller one to fly my prop planes in. there are options there for different ones, about anyone could build.
Image

User avatar
mickforce
Ticket Agent
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 9:33 pm
Location: U K

Re: Flight controls

Post by mickforce » Tue Oct 24, 2017 4:03 pm

I too would love a full cockpit, space and budget precluded though!

I am using a wheel stand pro (made in Poland) with a saitek yoke, pedals and throttle quadrant mounted plus a VRInsight MCP2B.
Image

Post Reply