Ratings - system - effect

General discussions related to our Virtual Airlines

Moderator: FSAirlines Staff

shearder
Ticket Agent

Ratings - system - effect

Post by shearder » Wed Aug 12, 2009 8:57 am

Hi all

Ok last night I made my first flight (i have looked for "ratings" posts but don't really find an answer. I have read the newbie thread and see that "ratings" is not that much of an issue, however, i am who i am so here goes:

I made a perfect flight. I have a panel which controls all lights, engines, gear, and includes all functions of the MCP (AP). So off i go in a AN-148 - which i bought - awaiting delivery of a CJ700. However, I have been flying MSFS since v1 in 1983/84. Yes, sometimes i make stupid mistakes or just fly for fun and don't constantly pay attention. However, I pride myself on being 150% perfect. So, I reached 10000 feet flicked my landing light switch and oops - switch faulty - i got it off but got a 5% penalty!! AGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG... Ok so on the way down I got to external view (and SHF+Z to watch altitude) and made sure lights were ON. That was fine with a bit of fiddling with the switch - new switch today - then landed, got to below 20kts in required time and landing speed was at 121ft/min. Nice and soft.

The real question is - how do ratings affect the pilot?? If they are not a big deal they must mean something if they are there??? How do i "fix" that 5% lost?? Is it possible to "catch" up??

Thanks in advance from an "older" newbie LOL
Last edited by shearder on Wed Aug 12, 2009 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

lexarne
Captain

Re: Ratings - system - effect

Post by lexarne » Wed Aug 12, 2009 9:07 am

I got some advise for you do to with your landing ligts.Once you reach 1000 feet you no longer need the lights so you can turn your landing lights anywhere between 1000ft->and 9900ft just trying to help

shearder
Ticket Agent

Post by shearder » Wed Aug 12, 2009 9:24 am